The Incredible Shrinking Phallus

Icon

Meditations on privilege

BREAKING NEWS: Lady Gaga’s genitals are not our business!!!

The blog Queers United reports:

Pop star sensation Lady Gaga surprised her millions of fans by parading on stage without an underwear showing that she is intersex and has male and female genitalia. This has not yet been confirmed, but the video is certainly interesting.

There’s then an unsourced quote attributed to Lady Gaga where she says that she has both female and male genitalia and IDs as female, and below that a YouTube video of the performance in question, which I will NOT be embedding. I watched the video because I thought that she took off all her clothes and said something like “I am proud to be an intersex woman.” That is not what happened. Rather, she was sitting on a motorcycle and her dress started riding up. She tried pulling it down, then climbed off it (with the motorcycle between her and the audience) and gave her dress a quick tug, all while continuing her stage patter.

Everything about the post I linked to above is hugely problematic. First, Lady Gaga was not coming out as intersex. She was going through her day-to-day life as a performer, doing her job and looking the way people expect her to look. She wasn’t “parading” around without underwear. She was wearing a very tight dress that might have shown panty lines. And if it had, that’s what people would be talking about right now because, really, how tacky, doesn’t she know better, no one wants to see that, get a clue.

What did happen is that Lady Gaga opted not to wear underwear and when getting off of a motorcycle resulted in a quick flash, it suddenly became okay for footage of her genitals to be circulated, presumably without her consent under titles like “Lady Gaga has a penis? Lady Gaga is a man?”, “Proof!! LADY GAGA is a MAN!”, or “Breaking news: Lady GaGa is actually a MAN!” and marked with pop-ups encouraging us to view “some of the funniest drunken shamings” on the internet. That’s not coming out. That’s exploitation, predicated on the belief that women’s and genitals that are “abnormal” or unexpected in any way are public property.

If she is intersex and chooses to come out as such, that would be great. If was assigned female at birth and chooses to come out as a woman with a large labia, awesome. If she was assigned male at birth and wants to share that with us, more power to her. But it was never the public’s business and it is shameful that footage of her crotch is the way she’s going to come out.

_____
Psst: if you read the LJ group Intersexed and saw a very similar comment there, that was me, I promise.
EDIT: Thanks to Lisa at Questioning Transphobia for cross-posting for me!

Filed under: Gender, sex, and sexuality, , , ,

6 Responses

  1. [...] that Lady Gaga came out as intersex is flying around the internet. One of my readers contacted me with a link which, I think, sets the record straight: The blog Queers United reports: Pop star sensation Lady Gaga surprised her millions of fans by [...]

  2. Claudia says:

    Hi, everyone! I’m an intersexed individual that wanted to comment on the supposed “intersexed announcement”/press-smear of Lady Gaga on Queers United. I have recently started writing a blog to raise awareness about intersexed individuals’ experiences, health, and mainstream media perception. If you are interested, please view my comments at the link below!

    http://fullfrontalactivism.blogspot.com/

    Thanks!

  3. Chris says:

    Some people have a rather juvenile interest in the genitals of others.

    Reminds me of the childhood trick “I’ll show you mine if you show me yours” where the instigator does not reciprocate.

  4. sam says:

    Personally I would like to see her genitals no matter what her gender is. She’s a superstar, she’s hot, and she has to expect there to be scandals/exploitation/gossip about her because of this. From what I understand of her she probably relishes the attention. I personally don’t care for her music that much, pop’s never been my thing, but I would love to see her do a spread for an adult mag or even find a sex tape that was leaked out. You can call me what you want but I’m just stating my opinion. And the fact that you seem to know what “nobody wants to see” just proves that you’re just as bad as the media that you fight against. Apparently YOU’RE the only one that doesn’t want to see. Food for thought…

  5. sam says:

    Personally I would like to see her genitals no matter what her gender is. She’s a superstar, she’s hot, and she has to expect there to be scandals/exploitation/gossip about her because of this. From what I understand of her she probably relishes the attention. I personally don’t care for her music that much, pop’s never been my thing, but I would love to see her do a spread for an adult mag or even find a sex tape that was leaked out. You can call me what you want but I’m just stating my opinion. And the fact that you seem to know what “nobody wants to see” just proves that you’re just as bad as the media that you fight against. Apparently YOU’RE the only one that doesn’t want to see. Food for thought…

    Sorry if I posted this twice…my phone is acting up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

